Senator Chang Recognizes Women of Distinction Honorees from California's 29th Senate District

Friday, October 30, 2020

SACRAMENTO - As the only Asian American female elected to the California State Legislator, Senator Ling Ling Chang (R-Diamond Bar) considers herself a pioneer and works diligently to uplift other women leaders. Senator Chang hosted the First Annual Women of Distinction event to recognize approximately two dozen women who are pioneers in the fields of sports, mental health, public service, education, youth leadership, non-profit, and more. The honorees and their supporters joined Senator Chang in a virtual event and shared their inspiring stories to other future women leaders.

“I’m proud to commemorate the 100th anniversary of 19th Amendment earlier this year which gave women the constitutional right to vote. Remarkable women leaders have paved the way for us including Rosa Parks who once said, ‘To bring about change, you must not be afraid to take the first step. We will fail when we fail to try.’  I have had the pleasure of working with many of these women leaders and I am proud to recognize them. It is not enough to support our future women leaders, but we must also highlight their contributions which is why it is my honor to recognize these outstanding women in Senate District 29,” said Senator Chang.

2020 Women of Distinction for Senate District 29:

  • Carrie Buck - Community Champion on Homelessness
  • Rosa Chang - Disabilities Advocate
  • Kristen Davidson - Developmental Advocate
  • Tyler Fezzey - Athletics Champion
  • Amy Gaw - Non-Profit Leader
  • Ruqia Hamed - Honorable Mention
  • Denise Jackman - Lifetime Achievement
  • Tamara Jimenez - Mental Health Champion
  • Lisa Keyworth - Public Service Award
  • Dr. Roozehra Khan - Progress for Women
  • Deborah Kopit - Woman of the Year
  • Marie Laveaga – Business & Industry Award
  • Julienne Lee - Educational Leadership Award
  • Jo-Anne Martin - Outstanding Veteran
  • Romarilyn Ralston - Social Justice Champion
  • Melanie Schlotterbeck - Environmental Champion
  • Shawna Smith - Community Partnership Advocate
  • Susie Sokol - Business & Professions Award
  • Pryscila Verduzco - STEM Champion
  • Breanna Yang - Senator’s Youth Award
  • Dr. Dagny Zhu - Health and Wellness Champion

Photographs are available for media outlets to use for publication. Please reach out to